The universe of European standards for machine safety


      The universe of European standards for the safety of machinery
      Publication number
      Information medium
      Fact sheets, PDF, 2 pages, A4


      As the graphic shows, the various standards orbit around a central directive:the Machinery Directive 2006/42/EC.While this universe may seem confusing at first glance, it actually follows a clear system.

      It is divided into the following groups:

      • Type-A standards (basic safety standards) cover basic safety issues and principles that can be applied to all machinery.
      • Type-B standards (generic safety standards) are divided into B1 and B2 standards and relate to safety technology.
      • Type-C standards (machine safety standards) describe specific safety requirements for individual machines or machine groups.

      In this fact sheet, we explain how the various types of machine safety standards are assigned using examples. Like how EN ISO 12100 describes general design principles relating to risk assessment and risk reduction, and is therefore a Type-A standard.B1 standards relate to higher level safety aspects such as ergonomic principles and clearance distances, while B2 standards relate to safety equipment such as emergency stop systems and light beam devices.Type-C standards on the other hand apply to specific machinery, such as mobile elevating working platforms and storage and retrieval machines.

      For further information, please visit our Product certification page, or contact us.We will be happy to advise you on directives, standards and certifications for machinery.

      Did you find this page helpful?

      Additional topics